What is My Pickleball Skill Ratings: Understanding the Levels

Pickleball Skill ratings depend upon how many pickleball skills you have and how capable you are to enhance your skills to achieve 6.0 ratings.

How ratings are assigned to the players? Well, ratings are in a numerical form and they depend upon how many pickleball skills you have and how capable you are to enhance your skills. Basically, the higher the rating, the more ready you will become to play in the international tournament against pro players. Here is A Comprehensive Guide on How to Get a Pickleball Rating

But what will make you achieve such ratings? Well, tag along to know the answers to all the questions like this roaming in your head. Let’s begin then.

Related: Best Pickleball Shoes for Optimal Performance – Tested and Reviewed

Pickleball Skill Ratings

On a general level, the pickleball skill ratings are divided into three major categories that are beginner level, intermediate level, and professional level. Other than this the pickleball ratings can also be assumed in numerical form just for easiness of judges. So the ratings from 1.0 to 6.0 are considered. Now I am going to explain each numeric rating in detail for your better understanding.

Pickleball skill Ratings

1.0 to 2.0 Rating is given to beginners who are learning the pickleball game and its rules. Basically, this is for the players who are making errors and are still striving for becoming better. As long as you are determined to learn the game, your pickleball skill ratings will ultimately increase.

You can get a 2.5 rating when you have some early experience of pickleball and have some knowledge about the pickleball rules and regulations as well, but that doesn’t mean that the player has become error-free. Now comes the 3.5 rating.

It is for the people who have learned hit drives, serves, and returns. In addition to this, if you have also learned consistency and control over the shots then congrats you have totally achieved 3.5 ratings.

Now comes 4.0 ratings. It is only achieved when a player has learned to give forehand and back hard drives, serves, and returns. Along with this, he should also be capable of returning the ball with dinks. And with all this, the last thing that matters is that the player has learned to attack his opponent because now you know about his weaknesses.

Related: Serving rules in pickleball

Now comes the 4.5, which is not easily achieved. In this rating, the player knows both forehand and backhand drives, serves, returns, dink, drop shots, spin, and direction, and above all this, he has consistency and control over his body. In this rating, you have almost no errors and know what strategy to apply.

Now comes the rating of 5.0. This rating is given to the players who have mastered almost everything and play with almost no errors. Players who know when to apply a certain strategy and when to use the weaknesses of their players as their strengths. This one is achieved after a lot of practice and patience. 

Now comes the final rating and that is 5.5 to 6.0. One is declared to achieve such a rating when he has all the skills, knows all the rules, follows such rules, has mastered every shot, and has consistency and control throughout the game no matter how much pro his opponent is, he just doesn’t lose his confidence no matter what the game brings.

Related: Best Pickleball Shoes for Beginners: Top Picks and Tips

Pickleball skill Ratings

It is necessary that one knows his rating and skill. In this way, he can motivate himself to do more effort and strive for better and better.  It’s never easy to achieve 5.5 and 6.0 but it doesn’t mean it’s impossible.

As there is a famous proverb, “practice makes a man perfect” one should definitely practice until he has achieved his goal. And once you are ready enough and have achieved a 5.5 or 6.0 rating, you can play on an international level.


I hope now you know that pickleball skill rating depends on your skills and also on how fast you learn all the concepts of pickleball. Generally, the ratings start from 1.0 to 6.0 and one can achieve 5.5 to 6.0 through practice and focus only.

One last thing, no matter how many strategies you learn, never lose your confidence in the field and give your best by maintaining control.

Leave a Comment