Pickleball rules kitchen are simple to understand yet a little complicated, but you can elevate your performance once you have learned them.
As a beginner, before you get into the game it is important that you should learn each and every rule of pickleball but today I am writing about the kitchen rules only because this seems so much interesting to me. Basically, the kitchen rules of pickleball are the most simple yet complicated rules.
Once you get to know these rules, I assure you that you can be saved from making minor faults and you will see your performance being elevated. So let’s get started then.
Pickleball Rules Kitchen
Pickleball rules kitchen is understandable only if you know what volleyball is. But if you are a beginner and have just started to get into the game then let me explain to you what volleyball is. Basically, volleyball is the ball that has not bounced or you can say it has not hit the floor yet.
Furthermore, no matter how high the ball was or how soft the shot was, it is a volleyball until it has not touched the floor.
The pickleball rules about the kitchen depend majorly upon the volleyball shot. Now, let me also tell you here about the kitchen. The kitchen is basically the area that extends from both sides of the net for up to seven feet and then a line is drawn to close it. This is also known as the non-volley zone.
I will start with the most simple rule first and that is standing in the kitchen. If you can’t stand in the kitchen or non-volley zone and hit the volleyball, it will be counted as your fault. Also, when you come to hit the volleyball and your momentum does not stop and let you into the kitchen zone, that’s also a fault.
Related: Pickleball Tips
However, if after hitting the volleyball you stop your momentum and reset your position, and then enter the kitchen then that’s totally fine. Then this will not be counted as a fault. Let me mention one more thing here, even if you touch the boundary line of the kitchen zone, intentionally or unintentionally, this will also be counted as a fault.
Now consider a scenario in which your foot is over the boundary line of the non-volley zone, and as soon as the volleyball comes and while hitting it you remove your foot from the boundary line and take it back into the court. Well, friends, that’s also a fault.
However, if you put your foot away from the boundary line of the kitchen and regain balance, and then hit the volleyball, then that’s not the fault.
But the question arises here: why is there even a kitchen when one is allowed to enter it? Well, you are allowed to enter the kitchen only and only when the ball bounces or hits the floor. You can hit the bounced ball even from entering the kitchen or non-volley zone, it is up to you.
Moreover, the presence of the kitchen rules makes the game interesting, not only for the viewers but also for the players.
Lastly, I would like to discuss one important fact with you guys. There is a common misconception followed by a lot of people that a cross-court dinking ball is okay to hit from the kitchen. But the reality is it’s a big NO. No matter where the ball is coming from, no matter how high, how low, or what is its direction, you cannot just enter the non-volley zone until it has hit the floor first.
It doesn’t matter how high the ball is coming, or how low the shot is from your opponent, you can enter the kitchen only if the ball bounces first. Other than this, entering the kitchen rule will be considered a fault from your side. So, keep the above-mentioned rules in mind, practice a lot, and stay away from the non-volley zone until the ball bounces. Best of luck.
Meet Daniel, a highly experienced writer who is passionate about pickleball. Widely recognized as a trusted source in the pickleball community, Daniel has extensively tested and reviewed countless pickleball products, ranging from paddles to shoes and beyond. Their writing showcases a keen understanding of the sport and its various intricacies.